Discipline is not Overrated

I feel ashamed to admit this but I think I really am absent-minded.
Whenever I put things at a certain place, my mind is elsewhere. I never remember where I had put the thing. And when I am really in need of those things, I end up searching them all over the place only to say at the end, “I lost it” 😦
It’s really dumb to repeat such things. But it keeps happening with me.

I was rambling about this and I figured out that Discipline is the key to be organized.
I mean it’s not just about finding my things at their proper place.
It’s with every part of life. When I know I have a task at hand that needs to be completed, I have to set myself to a discipline of giving my whole time dedicated to that task. When we keep pushing it to a later date it just gets accumulated and in the process, tougher to execute.

I know you read nothing new in the last paragraph. Those are the things that we already know. So, whats new?
It’s our ‘take’ on it.

Discipline has been always talked of as a punishment or so. It’s something people try to be away from. The word itself reminds us of some military lieutenant πŸ˜›
But, is it really so? I think NO. Discipline is easier said than done. That’s why people ignore it.

Now-a-days, being unorganized is thought of as being cool. It’s glamorized by the television and other media.
But I think discipline makes one tougher. It helps us gain control over our own things. We become aware of the world around us and the mind that was once an hazy picture starts getting clearer… And when that happens we conquer our-self.

The point I am trying to make is when the wisdom passed over generations always told us that discipline is the key to the organized mind and a route to success, they were not kidding. Discipline deserves its value. I rate it the best.

I don’t know if this post made any sense to you. But know that, It was not meant to be non sense.Β  πŸ˜‰

A quote I read somewhere:

No horse gets anywhere until he is harnessed. No stream or gas drives anything until it is confined. No Niagara is ever turned into light and power until it is tunneled. No life ever grows great until it is focused, dedicated & disciplined.

Think about it. πŸ™‚

22 thoughts on “Discipline is not Overrated

  1. Discipline is a trait which can be possessed only by a few individuals. No wonder the army people are disciplined because they need to have control on/about everything.

    Discipline speaks for itself. Those who can overpower discipline are those whose lives will be organized and successful.

    P.S. – Nice theme. The look feels refreshing and great. and the font size is good too.

  2. Yup. Completely true. πŸ™‚
    “Discipline is the key to the organized mind and a route to success” – Loved it!!

    And about the things – just keep them in such place that you never forgets. If placed elsewhere, just keep as it can be visible as we just open our cupboard πŸ˜› just ask me that. I can tell you. πŸ˜‰

  3. “No horse gets anywhere until he is harnessed. No stream or gas drives anything until it is confined. No Niagara is ever turned into light and power until it is tunneled. No life ever grows great until it is focused, dedicated & disciplined.”

    hey ankita true words… nice write up.

    P.S.: you sounded like a scholar or a motivational speaker when i read those lines πŸ˜‰ but a nice one πŸ˜‰

  4. @Enigma: I liked this theme the moment I saw it. It looks festive πŸ˜‰

    @Pranav: Your sense of organizing things rocks. I wonder will I ever be able to keep things so neatly.

    @Cooltwins: Hey madhumitha, welcome to the blog.
    A ‘motivational speaker’ is too much. I usually read or write those kind of lines to motivate myself πŸ˜›

  5. Great post buddy.”Discipline” is the must have of our lives today.But you know ankita,discipline is something which doesnot come so easily in our lives,you have to ”work” towards inculcating it and most importantly you have to realise its ”need and importance”.And good work yaar.

  6. Oh I just have the same issue of leaving things somewhere and then totally forgetting it. My tactic was to put certain kind of things in certain places only. So divide the places, and then you have a smaller area to search through! πŸ™‚ Trust me it really works, I feel organized now πŸ™‚

    And all in all, the post should be a good motivation to those who look forward to being organized..
    Btw, you’ve got a new theme. Its not too light, not too bright; perfectly balanced.

  7. @CP, RD and ET: Thanks guys. The post was aimed at myself. It’s me who needs improvement.

    If it motivates you too,

    Go discipline! πŸ™‚

  8. hey ankita, i have one idea. just write down the things whenever put it sumwher. e.g. sandals….three steps from front door……

  9. @Kunal: lol. I will try.

    But isn’t it even more hard to remember the ‘three steps from door’ thing? πŸ˜›

  10. Self-discipline is a form of freedom. Freedom from laziness, freedom from the expectations and demands of others, freedom from weakness and fearβ€”and doubt.

    Respect your efforts, respect yourself. Self-respect leads to self-discipline. When you have both firmly under your belt, that’s real power.

  11. okk…i have another idea. take the image of everything u put sumwher. n after every 15 min check out every photograph…….wht say???

  12. First few lines of your post sound like you are a bachelor engineer and stay in a boys hostel.

    Believe me, all boys always feel guilty of the dirty room. But being organised is just not convenient. Plus it is also a waste of time. πŸ™‚

  13. @Mayur Dada: lol. πŸ˜€ I know. But it really gets to my head, when over and over again I find nothing in its proper place.
    Graduation is nearing with every passing day. Now, I HAVE to do something about my behavior πŸ™‚

Do take a moment to comment.

