She means the world to me

She could have been a successful engineer earning thousands per month.
She could have been a professional entrepreneur, a popular social worker or a highly qualified lecturer. She could have chosen to be anything she wanted to be, but she chose being only ‘our mother’.

She sometimes wonders if she has mistaken by being the bread-maker instead of a bread-earner. She doubts on what she has been doing to us is right or wrong. She is unsure of the life she has preferred for herself and for us all…

I am dedicating this post to the past 20 years. It’s her birthday today. I take this opportunity to let her know, why she means the world to me.

When I was a toddler, she would bring things right in my hands. The smallest and lamest demand I made was looked after.

The sleepless nights she spent when I fell sick, when nothing else could help, the warmth I felt with her touch, her words…it would all heal me like nothing else.

I grew up watching her talk, deal with people, multi-task and care for everyone. I grew up seeing her showing, no sign of impatience or demand for all she did. Unintentionally, I copied everything from the way she talked over the phone or the way she served food and the way she ate. I was becoming like her more…day after day.

It may be hard to believe for many, but I have never been scolded by her, not even once. She willΒ  get angry, but it lasts only a couple of minutes.

She gave us the biggest virtue of Common Sense. She has been telling me since I was 10, that any toughest problem in the world could be solved by sheer common sense. Thanks to her, common sense is not uncommon at my place.

She never forced or pushed me to do anything, be it scoring good marks in school or learning to cook food. In fact, she has given me every liberty that I may not even have asked for. She never says something like, “Don’t do this.” or “Not permitted!” Her faith in me and the unshaken trust she displays has been enough to keep me going forward constantly.

She puts a full stop in my moments of confusion and disbelief in myself. I learn’t from her to think and care about other people. I learn’t from her the value of knowledge over looking good or being rich. It won’t be an exaggeration to say that she is a devotee of intelligence. Looking at her, the belief in simplicity is a boon I grasped very early in life.

She never knew what unconsciously she was teaching me. She has not just created me, she has MADE me whatever I am today.

I admire and adore her for all that I’ve mentioned above and more…

For me, Life is incomplete without her or should I say, there can be no beginning or end without her.

She makes my life beautiful everyday.
She doesn’t know this yet but all the dreams I dream are in some way related to her and she adds colors to all those pictures in my dreams.


This is the reason why…
SHE MEANS THE WORLD TO ME.

Happy Birthday Mum! πŸ™‚Β  I wish a very long life for you.

22 thoughts on “She means the world to me

  1. Hey , u have really written an awesome post for your mother.Iam sure she will surely like it.

  2. … and she was the one who is responsible for the start of revolution – ‘CrazyEngineers’. πŸ˜€

    [Fully story on CE, on 5th Anniversary. Promise! πŸ™‚ ]

  3. That was a really wonderful one. Your mother should be the most luckiest woman in the world to have the most luckiest child in the world.I might have made it boring, just take it easy. Anyway I admire your love for your mother. Aloha Amigo:-)

  4. Nw that was some gift yaar,kaku must have loved it n probably must have given your “return gift” then and there-her appreciation in the form of tears,personally i really loved it.Sometimes its more important to let people “just know” what they mean to you, even if they never ask for it, neither expect it.

  5. Hey Alfred, thanks for the comment and Welcome to the blog!

    Work and Studies has been keeping me busy all the time. Nevertheless, I will be emptying some junk here soon πŸ™‚

  6. I am very late but happy birthday to your mom!

    She will be proud of you and your brother πŸ™‚ you both are awesome. It easily proves that your mom is very intelligent!!

  7. I liked your language, you narrate really well ok.
    And i’ve have a friend, almost like you. She is her mummy’s little, sweet, naughty girl.Are you a bit naughty,uh ? Everytime she keeps telling about her mom. I’ve asked her to read your blog.Bye

  8. You are so dear and special to me, and dear and special don’t even begin to cover what is in my soul. The way you have written here about me, brings tears to my eyes. The angels definitely delivered you to our door, that is for sure! You are a true gift from heaven. And, I absolutely adore being a mom, being your mom. I love you so much, my beloved daughter. I know that your life will be as sweet for you as you have made it for us. Remember always, my earth angel, how truly blessed we are to have you.

  9. This is the most popular post on my blog!

    This easily proves how lucky mum is for me. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  10. One of the best mothers day post i’ve come across…..not only your post, but also your mom’s comment… Beautiful! πŸ™‚

  11. @Ambarish: Thanks. But this one was for my mom’s birthday.

    Well, we don’t really need special occasions to tell her that we love her. πŸ™‚

Do take a moment to comment.

