The madding crowd

I am standing in a crowd of about 200 people. People are rushing past me here and there. My vision is blurred. People are hooting and yelling. I am getting pushed from left to right. I have to shout in the ears of the person beside me.

This is definitely NOT the ‘picture perfect’ for me.

I’ve seen many people enjoy being in crowds. My sane judgment says that being amidst masses makes them feel safe and secure. They can do all that they want to do and other people would never found out who did it and they can be ‘safely’ out of the way. Ask them to do the same thing when 50 other people are staring at their faces and these people…they would only run away!

If given a choice of some special heavenly power, I would like to have that “disappear-and-reappear-wherever-I-want” one!
I dislike waiting for hours to get into a restaurant or to fill the exam form or even to buy grocery/movie tickets. Getting stuck in a traffic jam is such a bore!

Won’t it be great, if whenever I want to get past the queue, I just walk and the people start getting out of my way.
Won’t it be fantastic to find that all the boring time consuming jobs have already been done for me and I only have to concentrate on the things I am really concerned about.
How wonderful it would be, if whenever I go to any event, people give you the front row seats and call you the ‘guest of honor’. (I could go on and on…)

I think getting all that we want in a royal manner would be such an ecstasy. I am not asking for too much… or wait, am I?

I guess I will have to earn all that respect & esteem soon.

8 thoughts on “The madding crowd

  1. If getting in queue is less of a concern for you, it is for other people too. I personally hate when people with “all that respect and esteem” get their work done without any effort others are putting in. Not jealous (lol) its just that when others are spending so much time and are doing it why shouldn’t you?

    You know my thoughts regarding “equality” ๐Ÿ˜‰

    And about the crowd, i enjoyed crowd and noise while in school so that me and my friend could chat and sing carefree without getting heard by someone! ๐Ÿ˜›

  2. @Manashree: People with โ€œall that respect and esteemโ€ (the good ones) have struggled a lot to be at the place they are. They’ve stood in long queues and have taken more heat than most others. They chose a better life for themselves by applying thought and effort to get the things their way. These people raised themselves up on their own so that they should don’t die eating dirt their whole lives.
    We all believe in equality, but there is nothing wrong in aspiring for a better life for oneself so that we could help lift 10 more lives. That way, we create value in equality.
    Get the point.

  3. I still don’t get the point ๐Ÿ˜›
    People standing in queues don’t deserve seeing people with “all that respect and esteem” getting work done that very easily.

  4. @Manashree: Don’t deserve?
    People with โ€œall that respect and esteemโ€ don’t deserve standing in queues. ๐Ÿ˜›
    And by the way, you are getting totally off the topic.

  5. It will be very sad for anyone to have “all that respect and esteem” to get things their way and pass on their dirt they do not wish to eat to others (even though less deserving) -making others stand in queues a little more longer etc

    May be I wont ever get your point ๐Ÿ˜›

    Its really getting off, so peace ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. hehehe nice wishes ๐Ÿ™‚

    laziness never wrong best quality of the engineer which makes him to invent something to make things done with less effort!

Do take a moment to comment.

